June 2002



AMERICAN OTOLOGICAL SOCIETY, INC.

135th ANNUAL SPRING MEETING

The American Otological Society, Inc., recently completed a successful 135th Annual Meeting in Boca Raton, Florida, under the leadership of the President, Dr. Richard A. Chole. We wish to thank Dr. Chole for an outstanding program. The members and their guests had a very enjoyable evening at the President's reception/banquet and dance on Saturday evening.

AOS welcomed ten new Active Members to the Society – Drs. Moises A. Arriaga, M. Jennifer Derebery, Karen Jo Doyle, Joseph G. Feghali, Michael McGee, Terrence P. Murp Steven M. Parnes, Jay T. Rubinstein, Fred F. Telischi, and Peter C. Weber. One Corresponding Member - Johannes J. Grote, M.D. One Honorary Member—Graeme M. Clark, Ph.D.

Research Fund Report

The market value of the Research Fund as of 4/8/2002 was \$7,899,302. The AOS accounting firm, Hoffmann & Hoffmann, recommended funding between \$300,000 and \$350,000 for the approved grants for 2002-2003. Of this amount \$80,000 was earmarked for the Clinician-Scientist Award.

Seven research grants and two Clinician-Scientist awards were received and reviewed by the Research Fund Trustees. The total cost of the requests was \$438,047. Due to the quality of the grants, only three research grants were funded and one Clinician-Scientist award was funded for a total cost of \$199,891.

Clinician-Scientist Award

Dr. Charles Della Santina from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine received the Clinician-Scientist Award for his research entitled, "Electrical Stimulation for Restoration of Vestibular Function."

Research Grant Recipients

Dorothy A. Frenz, PhD—Albert Einstein College of Medicine "Growth Factor Signaling of Otic Capsule Chondrogensis: Implications for Otosclerosis" (renewal) \$39,931.

Margaret I. Lomax, PhD—University of Michigan "Role of Noggin in Ear Development" \$40,000.

Douglas E. Mattox, MD-Emory University School of Medicine

"Kinetics of Round Window Permeability" \$39,960.

AOS Bylaws

At the Annual Business Meeting, May 11, 2002, the proposed AOS bylaws revisions and the new AOS Research Foundation by-laws were unanimously approved by the members present. AOS will become the controlling tax-exempt corporation while the research fund will become a fully owned tax-exempt subsidiary of AOS. This will change the AOS federal income tax status from a private foundation to a public charity.

Membership

The Society is pleased to report a total of 297 members. The Membership Development Committee encourages members to seek out new qualified candidates who would be worthy of proposal for membership in the Society. The Society is interested in proposing candidates for ACTIVE membership.

September 1, 2002, is the deadline for submitting membership applications for candidates to be inducted into the 2003 Annual Meeting

Only Active and/or Senior members may propose a candidate for membership. The application for membership for all candidates must be completed in English, signed, and accompanied by the proposal letters and mailed to the AOS Administrative Office at 2720 Tartan Way, Springfield, IL 62707.

The AOS membership application form is available on the AOS website: www.americanotologicalsociety.org.

If you would like a membership application mailed to you, please call the AOS Administrative Office at (217) 483-6966 and leave your name and address, and we will forward application to you. You may e-mail your request for a membership application to segossard@aol.com

AOS Website Update

The AOS website is continuing to be updated and offering additional services to the members. In addition to submitting abstracts via the website, membership applications may now be submitted through the AOS website. Go to the www.americanotologicalsociety.org and select "How to Apply for Membership" and follow the instructions. Proposers will need to send original proposal letter to the AOS Administrative Office at 2720 Tartan Way, Springfield, IL 62707.

ABSTRACTS

October 15, 2002, is the deadline for submission of abstracts for the May 3-4, 2003, Annual Meeting in Nashville, Tennessee.

The American Otological Society encourages on-line submission of abstracts. The AOS approved abstract format follows the same format as utilized by Otology & Neurotology.

Two approved methods for submitting abstracts:

www.americanotologicalsociety.org

E-mail: segossard@aol.com

Active Members' Annual Dues: Enclosed is an invoice for the Active members' dues for 2002-03. We would appreciate payment of your dues within 30 days of receipt of this invoice.

A copy of the minutes of the Annual Meeting at the Boca Raton Resort & Club, Boca Raton, Florida, is enclosed

Change of Address: Please notify the AOS Administrative Office at 2720 Tartan Way, Springfield, IL 62707, or e-mail, segossard@aol.com, of any change in your address, phone/fax number, or e-mail. If you have recently acquired an e-mail address, please forward to the AOS office so we may record in our database.

Deceased Members: We are asking members to notify the AOS Administrative Office if you know of a member listed on the membership roster who is deceased. We need the date of death, current address of the family, and any pertinent information you may have regarding the deceased member.

AOS Officers & Council Members 7/1/2002—6/30/2003

President- Horst R. Konrad, M.D.

President-Elect- Jeffrey P. Harris, M.D., Ph.D.

Secretary-Treasurer- Clough Shelton, M.D.

Editor-Librarian- Sam E. Kinney

Council Members

A. Julianna Gulya, M.D. Richard A. Chole, M.D., Ph.D. John K. Niparko, M.D. Antonio De La Cruz, M.D.

136th ANNUAL SPRING MEETING

Mark your calendar now and plan to attend the 136th American Otological Society's Annual Meeting to be held in Nashville, Tennessee, at the Opryland Hotel, May 3-4, 2003.